Friday, October 13, 2017

Lawmaking in Australia - false information by the Australian Government

You know how the story goes;

- Don't believe everything you read on the internet.

The people in the Australian Government state (on the internet) that there are 3 (three) levels of  lawmaking in Australia.

1). Federal - i.e. the Commonwealth, i.e. Parliament of the Commonwealth

2). State / territory,

3). Local, i.e. City Councils.

This is plain and simply false information by the people in 'government'.

According to the 'law', i.e. the 'Constitution'
(The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 UK),
there are only 2 (two) lawful lawmaking levels / bodies / tiers in Australia,
i.e. Federal and State / Territory.

Briefly, according to the Constitution 'local government' is referred to as the government of the state.

What we call 'local government' today or City Councils are defined within the Constitution as Departments of the State with no law making powers bestowed upon them.

Another piece of false information by our deceitful friendly people in 'government'.

1 comment:

mele host said...

Good point. More need to learn about this and possibly form action groups to tear down councils.